Five

Yesterday Hunter turned five.

It was such a bittersweet milestone that I can actually feel the tears stinging my eyes just typing that. The years have sped by at an unthinkable pace, and she’s becoming more and more grown up and independent every day.

That’s a good thing, of course, but there’s a little slightly panicked voice in my head wondering if I have given her enough love and attention and whether I’ve been a good enough mummy, because soon she’ll be off to school and our time together will be so much more limited :(

So, yeah, yesterday was kind of sad for me – especially the bit at the school orientation where the deputy principal encouraged us to ‘enjoy your children for the next couple of months’. It really reinforced that end-of-an-era feeling and I could have just burst into tears right there. I am going to be absolutely hopeless when she actually does start school.

Meanwhile, she had an utterly fabulous day.

Leigh picked up croissants from the bakery and we all sat outside in the sunshine for breakfast and presents. Then we took Hugo to daycare and we three gals went off to the last orientation session at school.

When that was done, we took Hunter to have her ears pierced. She’s been asking for a very long time but we’ve been putting her off. Fifth birthday seemed like a good time, though.

She was a total trooper during the actual piercing, which is more than I can say for myself. I was horribly nervous and twitchy about paying someone to inflict pain on my baby. And she was so shocked by it, poor sweetie. She sat stock still while they did it and didn’t shed a tear but as soon as I said it was over and it was okay she fell apart in my arms.

Then the girl who did it realised she hadn’t put the backs of the earrings into the gun, and had to manually put them on Hunter’s poor hurting ears. I could have killed her. It’s not like an earring has 200 components to keep track of, you know?

Lunch at our favourite yum cha place was fair reward for Hunter’s bravery and she loved not having to share with her brother. She was disappointed though that there were no Shush Up Noodles (our name for fried noodles – because they’re a sure fire way to get the kids to shut.up. Kids think that’s what they’re really called).

Hunter and I spent a nice afternoon together at home then we had a roast dinner followed by ice cream cake.

Hunter declared it to be the best birthday ever, and much as I felt like crying half the day I confess I had a great time, too. It was so nice to have a whole day to focus on my girl. Life’s so busy that I sometimes don’t even notice how clever and funny and thoughtful and all round amazing she is. Five years of Hunter is a pretty incredible five years.

 

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lara said,

    What a gorgeous post. I have a wee tear too!

  2. 2

    Clemency said,

    Happy b’day Hunter – she looks gorgeous with her bob! What a great day and what a big milestone. xxx


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

