Drop off drama

Hunter cried and cried and begged me not to go when I took her to preschool this morning. It wasn’t like yesterday where she cried a bit then was immediately fine.

This time, as I was leaving, she was screaming, “please, mummy, I don’t want you to go” and was bawling, red-faced and very distressed.

I hated leaving her like that, and I also hate that she forms habits of anti-socialness very quickly and lets them go gradually if at all. Which means she is probably going to do this every day now.

I wish I had some tactic to avoid this. I know that what would work best would be for a staff member to engage her in some task as soon as we arrive, and for me to leave before she thinks more about it. But with 40 children and four staff, it’s just not going to happen like that.

I’ll see how she goes over the next week or two and then I think I might have to talk with her teacher. It’s only happened twice and I suppose it’s still possible she could be fine again by next week, but knowing Hunter I think it’s more likely that last week’s easy start was the anomaly.

It’s a pity leigh can’t do drop off, because Hunter was always better about just getting on with her day if leigh took her to daycare, but preschool doesn’t start till 8 and Leigh has classes starting at 7.30 every day this year.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    shelli said,

    Malka’s a LOT more clingy if I do the drop off.

    Sucks. Big time.

    Except this am? She saw “tia Anna,” (one of her teachers,) and without so much as a blink, scrambled down from my arms, and ran into hers.

    I think I was the one crying on the way to work! ;)

    But actually, I was a bit relieved, because otherwise, it just tears my heart out…

  2. 2

    red15 said,

    Oh, I wouldn’t be a bit upset if Hunter did that! We’ve been going through this drop off act for over two years now, between pre-school and family day care. At family day care it was just one carer and five kids. She liked the kids, she loved the carer, she’d been a million times and was totally used to it and she STILL cried nearly every day.

    We have preschool again tomorrow. Hopefully it goes better than last week.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

